The History of NZ Avocado Growers’ Association Incorporated

The New Zealand Avocado Promotion Association (NZAPA) was established in 1980 for the promotion of avocados from New Zealand.  In 1989 NZAPA changed its name to the NZ Avocado Growers’ Association Incorporated (NZAGA) and opted to come under the Horticultural Export Authority for the export of NZ avocados. The Avocado Export Council was the product group under HEA and incorporated in 1992. It changed its name in 1997 to the Avocado Industry Council. In 2005 the Avocado Industry Council Ltd became a wholly owned subsidiary of NZAGA when it purchased the share held by the Horticulture Export Council. In 2018 Avocado Industry Council Ltd changed its name to New Zealand Avocado Industry Ltd.

NZAGA remains the grower owned not for profit incorporated society, with all growers or potential growers as members.

New Zealand Avocado Industry Ltd is the operating entity and 100% owned subsidiary of NZAGA. An inter-company management policy sets out the delegations between the two entities.

NZAGA and NZ Avocado Chairs:

  • Alistair Young (2022 – current
  • Linda Flegg (2020 – 2023)
  • Tony Ponder (2017 – 2020)
  • Ashby Whitehead (2013 – 2017)
  • John Schnackenberg (2007 – 2013)
  • Hugh Moore (2001-2007)
  • John White (1999 – 2001)
  • Ron Bailey (1987-1999)
  • Grahame Ross (1980-1987 NZAPA)

Life Members:

  • Hugh Moore
  • Ron Bailey
  • Grahame Ross
  • John Schnackenberg
  • Alistair Young

The History of Avocados in NZ

Click here to read about the history of avocados in New Zealand. To read more about the origins of avocados globally, click here