Take me to the Consumer Website >
AIC on YouTube AIC on Twitter AIC on Facebook


The New Zealand Avocado Promotion Association (NZAPA) was established in 1980 for the purpose of organising promotion for New Zealand Avocados as well tackling other issues such as ASBVd testing. In 1989 the NZAPA changed its name to the NZ Avocado Growers' Association (NZAGA) and at the same time decided to come under the Horticultural Export Authority for the export of NZ avocados. The Avocado Export Council was incorporated in 1992 and in 1997 changed its name to the Avocado Industry Council. In 2005 the AIC became a wholly owned subsidiary via the purchase of the Horticulture Export Council share.

Today, NZ Avocado Industry Ltd is contracted to supply the AGAs administrative services and acts as its commercial entity.

Read more about the history of the NZAGA & NZ Avocado in the article at the bottom of this page.

NZAGA and NZ Avocado Chairs:

  • Tony Ponder (2017 - current)
  • Ashby Whitehead (2013 - 2017)
  • John Schnackenberg (2007 - 2013)
  • Hugh Moore (2001-2007)
  • John White (1999 - 2001)
  • Ron Bailey (1987-1999)
  • Grahame Ross (1980-1987 NZAPA)

Life Members:

  • Hugh Moore
  • Ron Bailey
  • Norrie Lees
  • Grahame Ross
  • John Schnackenberg
Natasha Mitchell
NZ Avocado Industry History Article

Published in the September 2008 issue of AvoScene

Download > Avoscene_Sept_08_19_23_art.pdf   (711.43 Kb, 23 Jan '13)
Consumers Website | Links | Contact Us